How to deactivate Facebook Messenger?

Do you know that the most preferred social platform “Facebook” allows you to temporarily deactivate your account at any time instead of deleting it? This helps you prevent others from seeing your profile and content, in fact, without deleting any of your information. But this will not deactivate messenger if it is installed in your mobile phone and you were logged in.

You can interact with your family and friends through chat in Facebook Messenger even if your account is deactivated. If you want to “Deactivate Messenger” or “disable Messenger” your Facebook Messenger by yourself then, You can do that also by following some easy steps.

In this article, you can learn how to deactivate Facebook Messenger after deactivating your Facebook account.

Many peoples do not know the right way to deactivate messenger. Even some of them delete their account just to deactivate their messenger. But the lesser known fact is Deactivating your Facebook Account do not Deactivate your Facebook messenger. Your friends can still be able to message you, see your profile pic or invite you for events over the messenger. The only way to deactivate your Facebook messenger is through the Messenger App.

While deactivating your Facebook Account, Facebook notifies you of this situation as shown in this image.

Notification by facebook regarding messenger deactivation

Deactivating Messenger through Messenger App.

You can deactivate your Facebook messenger either on a desktop or mobile phones. If you have clicked the Keep using Messenger by mistake during account deactivation, you probably will receive messages, but there is still a way to deactivate messenger without reactivating your account.

For Android Users

  1. Open your Facebook Messenger
  2. Tap on your Profile Picture on the top left corner
  3. Click  Privacy & Terms
  4. Click Deactivate Messenger
  5. Enter your password to confirm and tap Continue
  6. Tap Deactivate

For iOS Users

  1. Open your Facebook Messenger
  2. Tap on your Profile Picture on the top left corner
  3. Click  Legal & Policies
  4. Click Deactivate Messenger
  5. Enter your password to confirm and tap Continue
  6. Tap Deactivate

Conclusion

In this article, we have covered up all the necessary information that can help you to deactivate messenger.

Read More…



Leave a Reply